Pine Grove wins 14th annual Cardinal Classic Baseball Tournament

Font size: [A] [A] [A]

PINE GROVE - Jed Blankenhorn had three hits to back up a two-hitter from Steve Zimmerman as Pine Grove shut out Lake Lehman 10-0 in five innings to win the 14th annual Cardinal Classic baseball tournament Saturday, April 26 at Stump Stadium.

It's the third straight time Pine Grove (12-3) has won the tournament and ninth time overall. The victories increased Pine Grove's win streak to eight in a row.

The Cardinals reached the championship game with a 16-6, six-inning victory over Pius X in the semifinals.

Kobe D'Agostino, Brian Reichert, Nick Cataldo and Logan Levan had two hits apiece for Pine Grove in the championship game, with Reichert and Levan driving in two runs apiece. The Cardinals jumped out to a 4-0 lead in the bottom of the first inning with D'Agostino, Zimmerman, Reichert and Levan knocking in runs.

In the opener, Matt Hasenauer had three hits, while Reichert had two hits and knocked in five runs, and Zimmerman compiled two doubles and four RBIs. D'Agostino went the distance with a four-hitter to get the win and improve to 5-0.

Lake Lehman reached the title game with a 15-5, five-inning win over Nanticoke in the other semifinal. In the consolation, Nanticoke downed Pius X 14-13 in nine innings.

We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.